Fruit Infused Water // Spa Water

So, inspired by Diana’s post the other day, I decided to make my own version of spa water!

I’ve heard wonderful things about it & it just seems so summery & happy. I thought that making spa water a regular part of my day would be a great start for my health/fitness journey.

I just used whatever I had at home, which happened to be lemons and frozen berries. Now, I’ve seen people make lemon infused water, and I’ve seen people use berries in their spa water, but I do not think that I have seen them used together. So… this may be an interesting tasting water. I’ll keep you updated.   It’s yummy! 

photo1-10

First off, I chose to add lemon for the obvious reasons. For one, lemon is probably the most common fruit to put in your water, so it had to be good. Second, lemons have so many great benefits for you body:

  1. Boosts your metabolism by helping to detoxify your liver
  2. Gives you a boost of energy & even can have a calming effect, reducing anxiety.
  3. Helps fight food cravings
  4. Aids in digestion
  5. Helps your complexion because of the antioxidants it contains.
  6. Freshens up your breath

I added berries because – yum. But also because strawberries are high in vitamin C and folic acid. Blueberries are jam packed with antioxidants, which is amazing. Antioxidants help fight the free radicals in our bodies which can cause us damage. If you don’t know what free radicals are, you should look them up. I don’t want to get into all the science behind it, but a free radical is basically a single oxygen atom. This doesn’t sound like it could be damaging, but oxygen is diatomic and typically always found in nature as two oxygen atoms together, except for free radicals, obviously. Basically, just know that they are damaging, and antioxidants help counteract that. Our body doesn’t produce enough antioxidants on its own to compare with the amount of free radicals, so consuming foods high in antioxidants is a must. Antioxidants mainly help improve your skin and your immune system.

 

The next time I make some sort of spa water, I think I’d like to include some herbs. Also, in researching this topic I found that a glass of warm lemon water is supposed to be really good for you as well. I may have to give that a try, too. If  you have any of your own spa water recipes or anything related, I’d love to hear it!

 

xx Sarah

 

4 comments

Leave a comment