Making the switch from coffee to tea

So, if you are following me you probably already know that I have started a fitness/health journey.
One easy & simple step you can do to cut unnecessary calories is to change what you drink. Having recently started my internship and working a 40 hour week, my love for coffee has skyrocketed. I’ve been getting Starbucks every other morning almost. Thankfully though, I also have a love for tea and have a wonderful earl grey tea that I can go to in the mornings. I’m trying my best to refrain from buying coffee (for both health & money reasons) and to drink my tea instead.
I typically get a caramel macchiato which is about 230 calories. Tea has virtually NO calories. I believe I saw one stat that said 5 calories per glass and one that said only 1 calorie per glass- either way, virtually no calories. A small change like this can really add up and make a difference.

Not only does black tea have zero calories, but it also has several health benefits! First off, it contains antioxidants, which is great. I briefly explained antioxidants in another post. The antioxidants in black tea can help to lower the risk of clogged arteries & a heart attack. In addition, it has been found that black tea can help lower the risk of:

  • Diabetes
  • High cholesterol
  • Kidney stones
  • Parkinsons disease

The amount of caffeine in black tea is about half as much as the caffeine levels in coffee. I however, don’t feel guilty drinking two glasses of black tea in the morning. Due the the caffeine, it can increase your blood pressure (just like coffee) for a very short period of time. This does not have any long term effects on your blood pressure.

Of all teas, black tea has the highest concentration of caffeine. If you prefer, you can drink a lighter tea such as oolong or white tea.

Now, I know that I said that black tea does not have any calories, but this is only if you drink it plain. I personally don’t feel the need to add sugar or milk to my tea, although I know that some people do. It’s a taste that I have acquired and now I am in love with it. The smell of black tea instantly relaxes me, I love it so much.

 

Let me know if you have any favorite teas to drink instead of coffee in the mornings or if you know another small & simple switch to improve your health!

Leave a Reply

