The Journal

Prompted by, the daily post I have to decide what I would bring with me to remind me of home as I travel for a year. The only requirement is that it has to be small.

I had a really difficult time coming up with one item to take to remind me of home.
First off, you have to define what home is. When I think of home I think of my family, not my house. Anywhere with them is home to me. But also, my boyfriend of five years is home to me. I had a difficult decision of whether to pick my item based on my home with my family or to choose an item based on the home I feel with my boyfriend. This was something I was toying back and forth with a lot. My boyfriend and I have been dating for five years now, so you could say we’re pretty serious. I’m still young though, I’m only 20! I’m in an odd place where I’m not sure to feel more of at home with my actual family or if I feel more at home with my boyfriend/future family of my own. I didn’t want to abandon my family when choosing this item yet I also didn’t want to discount the love and level of comfort that I have with my boyfriend.

Then it came to me, an item that will include both parts of my definition of home. Whenever I travel, I like to keep a journal. Even if it’s sloppy, makes no sense later, or is incomplete mostly, I try to keep a journal as best I can. Well, for last Christmas my family and I traveled overseas to London and Amsterdam. I kept a journal, per usual. However, this time I actually kept a journal. I wrote in it everyday and sometimes even multiple times a day. I have very fond memories from this trip as it is the only overseas trip we have taken together with all grown children. All of my happy moments are recorded in this journal.

Also included in this journal though, is the love for my boyfriend. How much I missed him. How hard it is to not talk as much as you usually do. How happy I was when we did get to talk. How we kissed each other via FaceTime on New Years, 6 hours late my time, and 1 hour late his. How I went out of my way to be able to talk to him each time. How I’d stay awake to have that little part of home with me thousands of miles away.

This one journal contains so much that I love. Everyone that I love. This is what I would bring along with me. The Journal.

Leave a Reply

