Kayla Itsines BBG Week One

Okay, week one has officially been completed!

It went … alright.
The first day of circuits was legs & cardio and it kicked my ass. It’s only 2 circuits with 4 exercises in each. You repeat each circuit twice. Also, you’re supposed to set a timer for 7 minutes for each circuit. I finished usually with 2 or 3 minutes left though so I would let myself rest until the timer went off. I’m not sure if that was the best thing to do, but yea, that’s what I did. I went into it thinking that the first day wouldn’t be so bad and glancing at what I was going to be doing, I wasn’t too intimidated. But then I did it. And It was a struggle. I think what surprised me was that the step ups were the hardest part for me. They were just such a struggle to get through and it burned.

The next day I didn’t feel too sore until the afternoon and then it hit me. My butt & my legs were very very sore, but the good kind of sore. I love feeling sore and knowing that I’ve done something to improve myself and make myself stronger.

Tuesday was supposed to be LISS, low intensity steady state. Kayla recommends walking for this. I plan on jogging LISS, but for the first week I was going to just walk it. Anyways, long story short a giant destructive tornado was heading straight for my work & tornados are my biggest fear so after that ordeal and barely missing it, I just said screw it to the whole day. No excuses, but yea. That was my bad day.

Wednesday was arms and abs. It was much easier to get through than Monday but I think it’s because it wasn’t cardio heavy, just strength exercises. It felt good though. I usually don’t work out my arms, but I’m excited to start toning them & getting stronger.

Thursday was LISS again and I just went to the gym and did the elliptical.

Friday was an optional full body workout. Maybe I was more motivated, or maybe I have improved a very slight bit, but I could do my push-ups better as well as the burpees.

As far as eating goes, I tried (not as hard as I should have) to eat well, but changing my eating habits completely all at once just wasn’t going to work for me. My goal is to gradually change my meals.

I’m excited for this coming week as I am quite motivated and feeling great!
I have so much room for improvement, especially as far as eating habits go, and I hope to make even more progress this coming week.

Leave a Reply

