The Soft Box by Smashbox : A Review

softbox

Smashbox has always been one of those make-up brands which I would love to own a lot of, but don’t have an income to justify buying it frequently. Luckily, however, last week at Nordstrom Rack I found this little gem. The Softbox Palette. I have not heard anything about it, so I figured why not go ahead and give a review?!

The Overview: 

TSA_8044

Colors starting left to right: Top row – Russet, Truffle, Bare  //  Bottom row – Juniper, Sandstorm, Sumatra

The mirror in this palette really impressed me. It’s very large which I love about it. It’s also incredibly clear. I know other palettes that come with a mirror sort of slack on the quality of the mirror and it’s not so great to use. This palette, however got it completely right. I’ve been keeping this in my purse mainly to have access to the mirror at my desk or wherever I need it.

It also comes with a little double sided brush. One larger end for packing on color and blending and a smaller end which is good for under the lower lash line. I have yet to use this brush, but keep it in the palette just in case I ever need it. The bristles feel relatively soft and I would say that it’s a good quality brush for being included in a palette.

On the back of the palette is actually a peel off sticker which includes two different looks that you could make using these colors. I have tried them both out and even though they weren’t something I would just think to do myself, it turned out quite nice and I really liked it. It made me push my comfort zone a bit & experiment with different ways to use colors.

The Shadow Review:

Wonderful color pay off! The shadows are so soft and easy to work with. I usually don’t get too adventurous or dark when applying eyeshadow colors, but with these I found it was quite easy for me to push my boundaries. Even if the color swatched noticeably darker than I’m used to, I was able to blend it out into a really nice soft, subtle color. It wasn’t as in your face, but it was still darker for me. I actually really liked the way that it looked on my eyes & I think it’s encouraged me to continue with the darker shadows.

Now, I know some of you are going to be like “Dark?! What is she talking about?!” I know I know. None of these colors appear dark to most people, but I rarely wear “real” eyeshadow, as I like to call it, on an everyday basis. Since my internship though and working in an office, I’ve had an opportunity to really do my eye make-up everyday and not feel out of place / overdone.
With that being said, I think that this is a wonderful, wonderful palette for work. It is quite soft, like the name suggests, and I think it is very appropriate for a work setting. Or everyday, or a night out, you know- you can really where whatever, whenever. For me, it just works really well for my internship. I’m obsessed with it actually.

All in all, I think this is a wonderful buy and if you ever have a chance to get your hands on it, I highly suggest you do. Unfortunately,  I couldn’t find it anymore on the Smashbox website or Sephora, but there were a couple similar palettes. This was my first introduction into Smashbox shadow and the quality is what I was really impressed with. So even if it’s not this specific palette, I highly suggest you try out any Smashbox shadow.
I found these palettes along the same lines as the Soft Box for each eye color: blue, hazel, brown 

 

I hope you enjoyed this and found it helpful!

xx Sarah

(Review requested by wilmke – check out her blog! I love it!)

Leave a Reply

